Ringtones and Ringbacks

31Mar08

BMI has released an article that says ringtone revenue has been decreasing, while Ringbacks have been increasing. BMI is a performing rights organization that collects and distributes royalties to songwriters whose work is used in many forms of media.

The article stated that BMI believes that ringtones are fetching less money for the music industry because free and lower cost alternatives are available. I have friends who just send mp3’s to their phones and use those as ringtones.

I personally hate it when I call someone and the have a ringback…..I guess I am old school, but I like to hear a dial tone. I like to know how many times it has rung the other person.

I do think it is cool that BMI tracks the use of ringbacks and pays the composers, authors and songwriters royalties for the use. Independent musicians should find a way to get there songs used as ringbacks. Does anyone know if there is a service that does that for us indies??

http://www.bmi.com/news/entry/536285

2 Responses to “Ringtones and Ringbacks”

  1. Nice blog, i have added it to my favourites, greetings

  2. I would have to say that bmi would be the only legit company that would be willing to do this. Awesome to see.


Leave a Reply

