Janice Gilbert Releases New CD

25Oct08
Janice Gilbert

Janice Gilbert

According to Janice’s CDbaby page, it was back in 2004 when she and I began working together.  It doesn’t seem possible that it was that long ago, but time does fly!  At that time C-Sharp Productions and I were sponsoring a contest with the South Dakota State Fair called, “Dakota Star.”  It was a contest where the winner got to record a CD single with me.  Well…I was really nervous that year because as I sat and judged the finals I wasn’t really hearing the “X” factor.  No one was grabbing me.  But wait!  The last person to get up and sing was a very unassuming woman wearing a peach sweater. She had a big smile, and all of a sudden she whips out a crowd raising version of “Redneck Woman.”  I could not stop smiling. I knew she had to be the person to win.  I could see the passion she had for music, but she had zero attitude.  This performer was Janice Gilbert.  She had been doing other contests, but Dakota Star was very exciting for her.

After the contest Janice and I met at my place and we talked about what she wanted to do.  She had some high goals for CD sales and I explained to her that CD’s are hard to sell. You have to reach a lot of people to really sell.  She listened to everything I said, and she went out and did it!  I was so proud of her. She started booking gigs, and selling CD’s and she quickly became the best selling Dakota Star winner to date.  She did what most artists don’t want to do, she went to work.  She believed in herself and she made her own luck.

In 2006 she followed her dream and moved to Nashville where her great personality and work ethic has garnered both friendships and attention from some of the best in Nashville.  Janice Gilbert has also just released her first full CD of songs.  You really should buy this CD, the songs are great, and you will get to meet a true artist….Janice Gilbert.

http://cdbaby.com/cd/janicegilbert



2 Responses to “Janice Gilbert Releases New CD”

  1. 1 Lexi McGillvrey

    hey C Sharp and Janice Gilbert!… My name is Lexi McGillvrey and i won the Dakota Star Competition at the State Fair also in the same year that Janice Gilbert did!.. When I was competing in i think 2004 it was an amazing experience!.. and i would do it all again!
    Janice, I love your singing and so does my family!.. Everytime when drive its the 1st song we listen to in the car. “My Sunny Day”… that song is so anazing.. you have inspired me so much and i hope to grow up and be just as great as a singer as you are!.. Also my family from Arlington say that they miss you as a music teacher.. and my cuz Nick Hall said he went to Nashvill and stayed with you while he was there!…. i was so jelous!….
    Good Luck in Your Career!….
    P.S.- I hope you become a star someday cause your voice is amazing!
    Lexi*~

  2. Lexi ~
    Thank you so much for your sweet comments!! That really means a lot to me and I’m so glad that you are not sick of ‘Sunny Day’ yet. ;-) Ha! That is one of my all-time favorite originals.

    Good luck to you as well. I hope you keep singing, performing and following your dreams because you can do anything you set your mind to. If you’re ever in the Nashville area, let me know. :-)

    Janice


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

